Yes, I’m still here

I know it’s been a while that I’ve posted but be assured I am alive and well. I have been busy in Egypt doing the same thing that everyone else does – work. I have to teach during the week to fund my vacations and weekend adventures. I’ve been a few places in the last month, I’ll post about those adventures with pictures soon.

As far as school goes it is going really well. I like teaching early childhood a lot more than I thought I would. It’s totally different from junior high and high school that I’m used to but a good different. I know that I still need some work on perfecting my teaching skills with the tiny humans but it’s coming along. Sometimes I don’t simplify enough and I give too many directions but overall it’s been good. In P.E. we like to call it organized chaos. To someone walking by and seeing the students running all over they might not realize that everything we do has a purpose 🙂

We also have started an elementary intramural program for the 1st – 5th graders. There are competitive sports and intramurals for middle – high school but nothing for the elementary. We thought that starting this would give them a chance to get involved. We were hoping for a good turnout and about 55 students showed up so it was a great start. We split the students up by grade and played kickball. Most of the students seemed to enjoy it and said they would be back next week.

In addition to teaching and intramurals we also have staff athletic events during the week. Monday’s we play soccer. Although I haven’t been to soccer in a while mainly because I suck and also I am trying not to get hurt. Tuesday’s we play volleyball which we typically have a good turnout to play 6 on 6 or even more sometimes. Wednesday’s are the best night – basketball! So far we’ve had enough to play full court 5 on 5. Full court was a little tough in the beginning but it’s get easier each week. It’s great to get out and play and hang out with other staff members. I’ve also been spinning a few times at Gold’s Gym which was a great workout – I just need to go more 🙂

Later skaters – stay tuned

Leave a Reply

