Home for Christmas!

I’ve been in Egypt long enough that’s it’s already time to go home for Christmas. It really hasn’t seemed like four months at all, actually four months and five days. My time in Egypt has been amazing so far. It’s not crazy amazing everyday being that I do go to work during the week. For the most part it’s like any other normal life – work, go to the grocery store, cook, eat, and hang out with your friends. Obviously there are differences – a lot of sand over here, different culture, and the ability to travel almost anywhere. I was talking with my roommate Katharine the other day about how I feel that people have this idea that international teaching is some sort of glamorous fairy tale job. Now don’t get me wrong the advantages to teaching overseas are great, which is why we do it, but it’s not always rainbows and butterflies. We are still teachers and as teachers there are many obstacles we face just like anywhere else in the world – parents, co-workers, administration, discipline problems, and the list goes on. Now the flip side of that is travel, low cost of living, ability to save money and the list goes on. Even with all of the obstacles and the advantages I definitely know that I made a great decision. I’m so happy to be back teaching and especially to have the opportunity to teach early childhood P.E. I never would have guessed that I would enjoy it so much. At the beginning of the year I had no idea what I was doing and felt that my class was just running crazy everyday but my co-teacher really helped me to adjust to this age level. I for the most part am much more confident now with the little ones. There are times were I just look around and feel as those I have lost control but remember keeping control of 18-21 cats is not easy. It’s not easy but the rewards are great they are super cute and always want to tell you everything. My second and fourth graders are also cute – not as often but they do surprise me every once in a while and that makes it worth it.
As I sit on the plane in Istanbul getting ready to head to Chicago on a 12 hour flight I feel a little anxious/nervous about going home. I absolutely can’t wait to see everyone and just to be back to the states for subway, ketchup (the ketchup here is really sweet tastes weird), hidden valley ranch and Chinese food. Yes all those things are food and as an international traveler that is usually what we miss the most because sometimes you just can’t find that stuff where you are. In addition to food I also can’t wait to see the little monkey, family, friends, my brothers dog and driving my car. It’s the little things in life πŸ™‚ Nineteen days is going to fly by especially as I race around and try to see everyone, but it will be worth it. I know everyone is excited too – my dad has had a countdown going since I left πŸ™‚
Later skaters – have a great holiday season!

Leave a Reply

