Thanksgiving Diving – Ras Mohamed

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for the opportunity to spend the weekend diving. We had a three day weekend for the holiday so I’m spending it at Ras Mohamed national park diving and camping on the beach.

We left right away after school on Wednesday and arrived to our campsite around 9 pm. I got settled in, ate some dinner then I was off to bed. It’s cooler than last time I was here which was in May, so that’s a bonus. It’s great sleeping weather. Although getting out of the water can be chilly especially with the wind. I dove two times on Thursday, both were good dives. I’m still working on my picture and video skills but I’m pretty sure they are slowly improving. The first dive Lucie was my dive buddy. We saw some great fish as well as beautiful coral. The second dive our guide, Bassem, was my dive buddy. My buddy Lucie sat out the second dive because she was still warming up from the first dive. On my second dive I saw a huge eel that was hiding in the coral. I was trying to get close to get a good picture but then I envisioned it coming out of the coral and me freaking out so I didn’t get too close.

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.20.38 PM

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.19.49 PM I took a picture of this because I thought it looks like a brain. Well that’s actually what it’s called, crazy. Top picture – Brain Coral Bottom picture – close up of the brain coral

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.00.08 PM

2 yellowbar angelfish

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.13.08 PM

Coral that looks like a weiner – haha!

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.11.58 PM

Black and white lion fish

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.09.04 PM

2 red sea anemonefish

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.05.28 PM

Blotcheye soldierfish

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.14.25 PM

Bubbles – looking up 🙂

 

Thursday we woke up at the ass crack of dawn at 4:45 am to leave for the Thistlegorm Wreck dive.

P1010910

Sunrise at Ros Mohamed Camp

 

We left camp at 5:30 am and drove to the marina to board the boat that would take us out to the dive site. The boat ride was about three hours.

P1010915

Sunrise at the marina. Autum took a great picture.

P1010931

Leaving the marina

 

Once on the boat we ate breakfast, took a nap, and then briefed about the dive. This is a very popular wreck dive so there were about five boats there tied up. The history of Thistlegorm is that it was a carrier boat that was headed to the British troops that were stationed there in 1940. It was docked waiting for the Suez Canal to open up so they could continue on when the ship was bombed. The ship is very well preserved which is one of the reasons that it is such a popular dive site. Getting to the sunken ship is a bit of a challenge. You jump in off the back of the boat, find the rope then you descend. The hard part is the current. It’s usually fairly moderate to strong. In addition to jumping off the boat, finding the rope, descending and making sure you don’t run into anyone you are also battling the current. The dives I have done before that we descended on a rope the rope was very thin and just had a small weight at the bottom, it was more of a guide. Not in this case.  These ropes are anchored to the wreck as soon as we arrive by one of the divers that work on the boat. When I say anchored I don’t mean by a knot I mean a thick piece of cable that is hooked to the wreck then the rope is attached to that. Also the rope was thick enough where I couldn’t even wrap my hand around it, so it was a large sturdy rope that we were using to descend. When I say descend you might think of slowly descending, as you should when diving, but this was more of hanging on for fear of floating away and pulling yourself down. It wasn’t as bad as I had imagined but definitely not the easiest. Once you get down it’s absolutely incredible what I saw. The first thing I noticed were the large schools of fish. Usually they tend to swim away from you but these fish are so used to people that they almost swim around you since we are the ones who are really invading their space. The next thing I see is the actual wreck that is huge. We entered on the part that was bombed so that part of the ship is not together and you see a lot of broken parts.

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.34.55 PM

Machine gun

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.31.04 PM

Ammunition and part of a jeep or truck.

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.43.46 PM

On the deck of the boat

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.51.11 PM

Another part of the deck

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.48.59 PM

Crocodile fish

 

The first dive we went around the outside of the boat and the second dive we went inside and through the boat.  It was crazy to see how in tact the boat is.  Once you are inside you can see trucks full of motorcycles and even the captain’s quarters.

Once we were done with the wreck dives we were headed to the next dive site which is the shark observatory and Yolanda wreck site.  This is another wreck dive that was carrying items such as toilets and bath tubs and yes you get to see them under the water.  I didn’t go on this third dive because my heartburn was so bad.  One thing I have found from diving is that I get really bad heartburn.  I try not to eat right before I dive or drink too much coffee.  I also try to take some heartburn stuff right before I get in the water.  Sometimes it’s really bad and sometimes not.  It seems the deeper I go the worse it gets.  Maybe it’s the pressure that makes it bad, I’m not really sure I just now that day it was horrible.  So I gave my GoPro to my dive buddy, Lucie, and let her loose.  She got some really good pictures of the wreck as well as the beautiful coral.

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.49.34 PM

Eel hiding in the coral

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.10.51 PM

Toilets – you don’t see this everyday.

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.13.36 PM

Scorpion fish – look close he’s hiding. Good find by Autum

 

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 7.55.30 PM

Looking up – these are some of my favorite pictures.

My dive group for the weekend:

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.01.06 PM

Peggy – she’s a pro 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.06.51 PM

Autum – she did a great job!

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.30.03 PM

My buddy – Lucie

Screen Shot 2014-11-28 at 8.44.24 PM

Hesham – one of our guides and my open water instructor – he’s amazing!

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.17.19 PM

Bassem – our guide! He’s great 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.25.25 PM

And me…I’m waving

 

 

This was a great dive trip.  The landscape, the camp, and the underwater views were amazing.

P1010972

Beach at the camp. The different colors of blue are amazing.

Later skaters

– B

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

