Bahrain Marathon Relay (BMR)

About a month and half ago there was talk of a marathon relay and I was asked if I wanted to participate. My first reaction was no because I am not a runner, never have been, never will be. Then after some talking to and assurance of oh no it’s totally fine, it’s a relay you only run a small part and then you are done combined with peer pressure I of course agreed. Although I am not a natural born runner I have gotten into running on and off. My last year in Egypt towards the end of the school year I started running and that continued until the summer, then I stopped. After I got to Bahrain I started running again. So for the past two months or so I have been getting up at 5 a.m. every morning and going for a run. Now I say run but it’s more of a trot like a turtle through the mud. Any case I was signed up to run. When I agreed to run the relay I failed to realized that it was the day after Thanksgiving. For this reason I had to make sure to watch my intake of turkey as well as beverages. I needed to make sure that I would be able to run the next day so I made sure that I was home nice and early to be ready for race day. On race day we all met on the street at 8:30 a.m. to get in the bus to head over to the start of the race at 10:00 a.m. The race started and ended at the Bahrain International Circuit racetrack. I have to admit that I had a great time.

1st Leg – Dave at the starting line ready to get it started!IMG_0689

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2nd Leg – Heather is offScreen Shot 2015-11-28 at 5.01.04 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3rd Leg – Peg was so fast we didn’t get a picture of her running or handing off the baton but here she is after her run in the bus.

IMG_0700

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4th Leg – Horner in his grooveIMG_0701

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5th Leg – Kelli is offIMG_0702

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6th Leg – Patrick ready to go…he also ran leg 12, what a guy!IMG_0704

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7th Leg – Trina heading to her handoff spotIMG_0706

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8th Leg – Mags is all ready to run her first leg…she also ran lucky #13 – great job!IMG_0707

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9th Leg – Joseph’s ready! He’s handing off to me…IMG_7921

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10th Leg – At this point I’ve realized that I was so excited when I started that I was sprinting and now I’m regretting that decision…IMG_7925

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11th Leg – I handed off to this guy….JP….gogogo

IMG_7928

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#12 – Patrick…great job of running 2 legs

#13 – Mags….also 2 legs – wow

#14 – Melissa finishing strong….IMG_7945

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#15 – Bryan handing off to the anchor #16 Katy who was closing the race for us!IMG_3098

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our final time was 4:11:38 which was faster then last year’s time which was good for us but that just means that next year we need to try to break 4 hours. I’m pretty sure that everyone was happy with their times. I think everyone probably ran faster than what they expected. My sore legs are in agreement with that statement for sure. I had a great time documenting our journey, hanging out and even running my leg.

We couldn’t of competed without Kate, our trusty driver. She drove, dropped off, and picked up runners all day. Thank you so much! Much appreciated 🙂

IMG_0709

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the bus getting pumped up with JP!

IMG_0687

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Great picture ladies!

IMG_7931

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After race selfie with Peg 🙂 She’s pretty awesome.

IMG_3106

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Later skaters

-B

Leave a Reply

