10K in Dubai

Last weekend I took a trip to Dubai to run in a 10K. Yes, you read that right, I ran a 10K race. As I’ve said before I use the word “run” very loosely and it’s more of a jog, a slow jog, like a turtle – you get the point. It was my first time to Dubai so that was exciting in itself. It’s a short one hour flight from Bahrain. When I arrived I felt like it looked a lot like Vegas. There were a lot of tall and flashy building and advertisements for five star hotels and places to eat. Once I was there I checked into my hotel and was off to pick up the numbers and information for the 10K. The race was Friday morning at 9 a.m. so we left our hotel around 7:45 a.m. Autum and Mike came from Egypt to run the race too. Since most of the streets were closed we ended up walking for about a half hour just to get to the start line. We wanted to check our bags at bag check and that was another twenty minute process. So to say that we were warmed up for the race was an understatement. Also running the race were two other teachers from Bahrain, Josh and Mags. We all met up before the race and Mike went to run with them because let’s just say their times were a little faster than ours. Autum and I were running the race together. We usually run at the same pace so it would be good for us to stay together. Thank god for Autum! If it wasn’t for her I would have most likely walked the whole thing and taken twice as long. 10K is kind of a far distance, it’s 6.214 miles. I’ve realized after this race I’m more of a 5K person and that’s pushing it. In the end though we finished with a combination of jogging and running in 1 hour and 46 minutes. We wanted to finish in 1 hour and 30 minutes but at least we finished and yes it was way harder than what I had imagined.

IMG_1035

Before the race – all smiles

After the race - notice how red my face is...

After the race – notice how red my face is..

IMG_1033

The crew – Josh, Mike and Mags all finished in under an hour.

After the race we ate Subway, went back to the hotel for a nap and then had an hour long massage. It was an amazing massage. That night we ate dinner with a friend of Autum’s from Abu Dhabi and also met up with Mags. I called it an early night and slept like a rock.

For my last day in Dubai Autum, Mike and I did what Dubai is know for and went shopping all day.  I had a few items that I actually needed to purchase so it was perfect. The mall was huge with plenty of stores to choose from. For lunch we went to Cheesecake Factory and later went back for cheesecake 🙂

Later skaters

-B

3 comments

Leave a Reply

