Spring Break 2016 – Dahab, Egypt

Spring Break was at the end of March and I decided to get some diving in so I of course headed to Dahab along with my trusty roommate and fellow diver Peg. I convinced some teacher friends from Bahrain, Jodee, Kelli , and Lindsey, to come with and check it out. I’m always worried when you talk a place up and how much you love it that those who you have brought there will think the same thing. To be honest when we arrived I was like oh boy they hate it – lovely this is going to be a long week. Fortunately though they ended up loving it just as me.

We left Bahrain really early in the morning, stopped off in Cairo where we met Autum and then headed to Dahab. When we got to Dahab it was morning so we had some breakfast, settled in our rooms, laid by the pool and started to relax.

IMG_1185

Our view from breakfast.

Kelli  was interested in diving and was going to do an intro dive. Bassem was nice enough to take us out and take Kelli on her first ever dive.

Kelli’s first intro dive was successful and she loved it! Thank you Bassem you did amazing 🙂 Thank you to Lindsey for these amazing pictures – she was on shore duty and got some great shots of us preparing to dive.

My brother and future sister-in-law bought me a dive computer for Christmas and this was the first time I got to use it. I loved having all of my dive info at my fingertips. I know how to use about three buttons.

12888661_10153920165391210_780598764457957393_o

Bassem showing me how to use to my new dive computer.

Kelli loved her first dive so much that she went on a second intro dive the next day. She had a little more freedom with our guide Samir and was pretty much a pro.

IMG_1201

One of my favorite stores.

IMG_1180

Peg loves my hugs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If we weren’t diving we were shopping, hanging out by the pool, drinking beer at the British pub or trying to give Peg hugs.

Kelli and I also took a day adventure to Mt. Sinai. This is were Moses received the 10 Commandments from God so naturally I refer to it as Moses’ Mountain. At the bottom of the mountain there is a monastery that is still in use today.

Another teacher friend, Jodee, stopped in Dahab on her way back to Bahrain for a few days. She also wanted to go for an intro dive so I set her up a guy I know.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 1.44.43 PM

Jodee on her intro dive and loving it 🙂

The next dive Peg and I went one was at the Cave’s. Peg mentioned it before, I’ve never been and she said it was really cool. The part she failed to mention was the entry and exit. Luckily Bassem went with us and as he’s explaining the entry and exit I looked at Peg and was like WTF! Basically to enter you hang on to each other and jump in backwards so you don’t crash against the rocks and to get out Bassem will put his hand in the water and pull you out with the waves…no really that’s how the debrief went 🙂  To sum it up – it was Awesome!!! Yes they literally are caves, it was cool to swim into them and then look up.

The top two pictures are looking out of the caves and the third larger picture is where we made our exit.

IMG_1203

The last few days in Dahab were spent hanging out, relaxing and not wanting to go back!

 

Later skaters

-B

Leave a Reply

