Amsterdam

Before heading home I decided to tag along with my trusty travel partner, Peg. She was headed to Amsterdam for a week so I went with and spent two days there. Peg booked an Air B&B place near the Red Light District. Oh perfect we will be close to everything, taxi man please take me to this address. We arrived at the apartment around 4 p.m. At that time there wasn’t a huge crowd of people on our street. As we walked in and up the spiral staircase we entered an amazing small but perfect sized apartment.  As I’m looking out the living room window I look across the street and see this…

IMG_1702

Then I look down the street to the left and right and see all similar sights. Not only are we near the Red Light District we are literally in the middle. I sent this Sex Palace picture to all of our friends and let them know that this is the kind of area you can stay in when Peg is in charge of lodging.  To be honest though it was perfect size, perfect location and worked out great. I just really liked giving Peg a hard time. Her son met her in Amsterdam and this is where she booked to stay, Mom of the year 😉

That night we went for drinks at a local establishment and explored the city. People watching is on point in Amsterdam. We met up with some friends who were also visiting.

IMG_1706

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fun fact about Amsterdam which I knew but forgot, lots of daylight hours that time of year.

IMG_1711

It’s 9 p.m. – WHAT!! Look at how light it is out.

That particular night the sun didn’t set until after 11 p.m. I’ve heard people say that it messes with your body and sleeping. Before experiencing that I was confident that I could handle it staying lighter longer – WRONG! Your body thinks it’s tired but your brain is like no it’s light out its 4 p.m. when it’s really 10 p.m. It was so crazy but pretty cool too experience for the first time.

The next day we explored more, rode the train, had drinks in the morning, picked up Peg’s son and his girlfriend, ate some awesome sandwiches, went shopping at some thrift stores, took a nap, ate more crepes, and drank some more.

It was only two days so there is still lots to see so I will definitely be back.

Later skaters

-B

Leave a Reply

